The College Struggle

Asher Roth’s song “I love college” was far from how I felt during my undergrad years. I would have considered myself a very untraditional college student and extremely envious of many of my peers. While many of my friends could put off studying for another night to relax, have a personal day, or go out and party; I was working nights and studying until the wee hours of the night. 

Why do you work so much? Idk how you do it?

Those were the questions I heard so frequently from peers and coworkers. During my undergrad there were plenty of weeks where I put in over 40 hours, while being a full-time student, and computing almost an hour to school, one-way. I did it because there was no other options. Living off students loans wasn’t an option. I had zero financial support from my parents. And I am too humble and independent to ask for a dime. 

We all have to play the hand we’re dealt. 

I took control of my life and the hand I was dealt when I left my crummy childhood home, half-way through my senior year of high school, on my 18th birthday. I proved all my “haters” wrong by living on my own for this long and never borrowing a cent from a soul. There were so many times I wished during my undergrad that I didn’t have to work so much and wished I could focus on my grades more, but now that I look back I wouldn’t change my struggles for anything. I am proud of every mountain I’ve had to climb in life. Every obstacle has taught me something valuble and for that I am forever grateful. 

You are not alone.

We all have our own struggles throughout college. Whether it be money, family, or mental struggles. 

Here’s a shoutout to those struggling

Everything happens for a reason. There’s a lesson to be learned from every hiccup in life. Stop saying “I wish this was different”, “I wish I wouldn’t have done that”, or “I wish my life was more like his/hers”. Learn from your mishaps, and own that hand you were dealt. You are in control of your life, make it flourish.

Leave a Reply

